Hall of Fame


The Governor General’s Award of Excellence will be on offer for the most outstanding Professional performance achieving 96% or greater in the NIFCA Theatre Finals.   This will comprise a cash prize of $5,000.00 and a trophy, and will only be awarded should the judges determine that the entry merits the award. 


The Prime Minister’s Scholarship is presented in the Name of the Prime Minister’s Office. An individual and/or creator of an entry achieving GOLD (an average score of 91% or higher) may be nominated for this prize. Awardees must demonstrate the greatest potential for training and development in their discipline. This award which may only be won once by any participant is for a maximum of BDS$35 000.00, for tertiary studies in the awarded discipline, preferably at any Caribbean Arts institution. A maximum of two scholarships will be awarded in the Festival in any year. Scholarships are tenable across all categories of NIFCA. 

Year DisciplineThe Governor General's Award Discipline The Prime Minister's Scholarship Discipline The Prime Minister's AwardWIBISCO/NIFCA 35th An. Founder's Trophy
1997Russell Watson
1997Visual ArtsDavid Gall
1997DramaClairmonte Taitt
1998PhotographyChris Williams
1998DramaSonia Williams
1998Culinary ArtsDave Trotman
1999Visual ArtsEwan Atkinson
2000PhotographyCheryl Field
2001Culinary ArtsRon Boyce
2002DramaKareen BrowneVisual ArtsGloria Chung
2002DanceSuzanne Watts
2002Visual ArtsTonya Wiles
2002MusicDwain Gill
2002Literary ArtsMark Jason Welch
2003Culinary ArtsEzra BecklesDanceValencia JamesDanceResponze
2003Culinary ArtsMichael HarrisonCulinary ArtsRhea Gilkes
2003Literary ArtsRobert SandifordVisual ArtsMatthew Clarke
2003DanceResponzeDramaStacey Cummins
2003MusicOlakundeMusicAaron Joseph
2003PhotographyEric Belgrave
2004MusicMichael FordeVisual ArtsMandisa LashleyCulinary ArtsRichard Perkins
2004Literary ArtsKerry Belgrave
2004MusicJoel Devonish
2004DramaSimon Alleyne
2004Culinary ArtsAnn-Marie Alleyne
2004DanceCarolyn Clarke
2005DanceGene CarsonCulinary ArtsJoanna GreenDanceGene Carson
2005Culinary ArtsEzra BecklesMusicMistral Baldeo
2005PhotographyLeslie TaylorDanceKeisha Amory
2006Literary ArtsRobert SandifordVisual ArtsRodney Aarons-MassiahPhotographyTracy Greenidge
2006Visual ArtsSamuel SealyLiterary ArtsKathleen Kennedy
2007MusicSamuel MillingtonPhotographyTracy Greenidge
2007DramaAndre BelleMusicColeridge & Parry School
2008Visual ArtsGloria ChungDanceTuesdai PounderPhotographyHimal Reece
2008Culinary ArtsMichelle MaloneyLiterary ArtsAdrian CallenderCulinary - Michelle Maloney
2009Culinary ArtsEzra BecklesMusicRhesa GarnesVisual Arts Carlisle Trotman
2009Visual ArtsGloria Chung
2009Literary ArtsAustin Yearwood
2010DanceOlivia HallDanceOlivia Hall
2010Visual ArtsBethany Pile
2011DanceAisha ComissiongVisual Arts Carlisle Trotman
2011MusicDamian Leacock
2011Literary ArtsRobert Sandiford
2011Visual ArtsCy HutchinsonVisual Arts
2012Culinary ArtsRhea SupevilleDrama/SpeechJanine WhiteCulinary ArtsAudrey Watson
2012Visual ArtsAnya Stephen
2013Culinary ArtsJason JosephTheatre ArtsAdrian GreenVisual ArtsJason Hope
2013Visual ArtsCy HutchinsonLiterary ArtsAprille Thomas
2014Visual ArtsCy HutchinsonVisual ArtsSheri NichollsDanceElement
2015Literary ArtsWinston FarrellLiterary ArtsKwame SlusherDanceDancin' Africa
2015Literary ArtsShakirah Bourne
2015Film/VideoJason Russell & Satya Collymore
2015Visual ArtsJason Hope
2016Culinary ArtsDamien LeachMusicMarlon LegallVisual ArtsRoger Williams
2016Literary ArtsEsther Phillips
2016Theatre ArtsYolanda Holder
2016Visual ArtsJason Hope
2017Film/VideoMarcia & Dave WeekesFilm/VideoMelanie GrantLiterary ArtsKerry Belgrave
2017Literary ArtsLinda M. Deane
2017Culinary ArtsMelissia Batson (Jem's Barbados)
2018DanceJamal DaweVisual ArtsNick Whittle
2019MusicLeandro LayneDanceShea Best
2019NIFCA Award for Originality
MusicLeandro Layne
Theatre ArtsIrijah The Don (Irihah Alkins)
DancePowerhouse Studios
Culinary ArtsEzra Marshall
Literary ArtsStephen Sandiford
Visual ArtsRyan Alleyne

Contact us

The National Cultural Foundation
West Terrace,
St. James, Barbados